It’s New York Fashion Week Again!

And I have favorites. Prabal Gurung’s show was incredible. The colors! The fabrics! The cuts!

He told NY Mag: “The collection was inspired by beautiful girls — beautiful, smart, intelligent girls, intelligence being the forefront of it […] The girl that I’m always designing for is never wearing the tight short dresses and showing what shouldn’t be shown, […] There’s a hint of it, but it’s sexuality and sensuality done intelligently.”

Of course, I’d have to up the hemline on all these looks by about a foot to suit my shortness, but that’s never stopped me before.

See his entire collection (highly recommended!) here.

Jill Stuart put on another one of my favorite shows, which is a bit surprising to me since my aesthetic is rarely minimalist. Until now.

The looks that I posted here, while perhaps not representative of the show overall, remind me a lot of the gorgeous Chanel S/S 2009 collection.

Everywhere there’s lots of white, the continuation of the orange-coral-warm red lip, lots of silk, and a slight lowering of hemlines (I blame Mad Men.).

More soon!

One response to “It’s New York Fashion Week Again!

  1. Wow, that white dress is gorgeous. I love the angularity of his pieces. Is that even a word? I’m not certain, but that is the word that comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

