Summer Soup

Recently Husband and I had dinner at a fancy-ish restaurant (by standards of our university town) and their soup of the day was zucchini-goat cheese puree. Hello? Yum. I couldn’t justify the nearly $10 for a bowl, but decided then and there to attempt it at home. Here’s an approximation of how it all went down.

I got two zucchini from my CSA this week. I purchased a packaged “salad herbs” mix thinking that they would be a way of varying up my standard spinach salad. Turns out, I don’t like salad herb mix. It’s way too bitter for me. I decided to repurpose it for this soup.

Here you can see most of the ingredients:

1/2 onion, chopped

2 chopped zucchinis

fair amount of fresh herbs (though I think you could sub in tons of things here–broccoli, asparagus, kale, potatoes, etc.)

approximately 1 carton of vegetable broth

goat cheese (I like mine with herbs)

5-6 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed

olive oil

Saute the onion in olive oil until translucent then add in the zucchini. After a couple more minutes, toss in the greens, press the garlic over the pan, and continue to cook until the greens are wilted. Season with salt and pepper. Remove pan from heat.*

Heat a small amount of olive oil in a large stock pot. Add in the vegetable broth. Before the broth boils, add in the sauteed vegetables. While the contents of the pot are heating, chop the goat cheese into the soup. Allow the soup to boil, then turn down to a heavy simmer for a few minutes and stir occasionally. Season (again) with salt and pepper.

After ingredients have simmered together for approximately ten minutes, remove pot from heat and use an immersion blender until smooth.

I’m pleased with the results of this experiment.

*FYI: there’s a whole lot of approximating going on here because I totally made it up as I went. Let me know when/how you improve upon this first version!

2 responses to “Summer Soup

  1. shornrapunzel

    Which restaurant was it?

  2. twistofdynamite

    Marche–at 5th Street Market.

Leave a Reply

