Christmas Eve Traditions

When I think of holiday traditions, I mostly think of food. Blame my family, blame my genes, blame the amazing cooks I’m privileged to be related to (Mommmm).

Today I was in the mood for comfort food and happened to have six kinds of cheese in my fridge, plus the other makings for macaroni and cheese. I’m trying to use up all of my good food before I leave tomorrow and make dishes to freeze for when I’m back (and in school) because, for the most part, Husband won’t eat anything good or good for him.

Thus, four-cheese macaroni was born. And I plan on making it a Bullock family tradition. (Completely disregarding the fact that I’m the only one who’ll eat it. Moving on.)

It was simply too good to keep to myself, so here’s the recipe for you. Enjoy.

1/2 box macaroni shells (I used whole wheat.)

1/2-3/4 a head of cauliflower

generous amounts of shredded cheeses–I used extra sharp cheddar, smoked gouda, and pepper jack

1 egg

1 container of sour cream (I used the 3/4 of a container I had left and it was fine)

generous amounts of kosher salt and ground black pepper

a dash of garlic salt

a dash of white truffle oil

While the macaroni shells are boiling, place the cauliflower in a steamer on the pot (double tasking!).

As those cook, mix the shredded cheeses, sour cream, spices, and egg.

Add the drained cauliflower and shells with the cheese blend, stir to blend well and add in the truffle oil.

Pour into a 9×9 greased square pan (I’ve used glass and metal, both are fine) and then tear up a few slices of swiss to cover the top.

Cook at about 400 degrees for approximately 20-25 minutes, or until it smells done (I don’t know? It just always does.). If you like, and I do, turn the broiler on for about a minute to get the top really browned and crusty.

Eat up!

Merry Christmas to you all! I’ll be back in a couple of days.

These are the songs I’ve been listening to all week. They’re good, trust. The first one breaks my heart and makes me cry. Every. Stinkin’. Time.

One response to “Christmas Eve Traditions

  1. oh, honey…come home, I can’t wait to cook for you!

Leave a Reply

