Acceptance!

I received the really, really exciting news today that my paper proposal was accepted to the Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS) conference in March! Whoo-hoo! It’s a huge deal as the conference is exclusive in who they select to present and it’s an honor to be chosen. Anyway, Husband and I are already making plans to go together and scouting out excellent hotel deals (it’s my new thang) to avoid both the expense of the one the conference is being held at and the insanity that comes with feeling like you just. Can’t. Get. Away. I’ve done this conference thing before, but never on this scale, so I can imagine sense of separation will be even more important.

Also — we’re going to Los Angeles! As much as I’ve disparaged L.A. (and I’m not sure I’ll change my mind), it will be so fun to get to experience such an iconic town, at least in the limited way such a “business” trip offers.

In celebration, some photos of things that make me happy:

+

+

+

+

+

+

Image sources linked (where I had them) at the “+” symbols beneath the photos.

I’m making good on my warning that I have to disappear and work for a bit. I have so, so much lesson planning, grading, and writing of my own to do that it’s out of control. Plus, Zumba tomorrow, which is the new love of my life! (Not only should you watch the video I linked to get an idea of what Zumba is like, but to feel really good about how coordinated and talented at dancing you are. YouTube is one of my favorite hilarious places.) I’m out.

3 responses to “Acceptance!

  1. Congrats on your paper being accepted to the conference. I’m so happy for you.

    P.S. That Jack Russell is too cute.

  2. Of course, you were accepted….DUH!!!!

  3. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

