Rolled Out

Tonight Husband and I couldn’t decide on which movie to see at the (cheap!) theater, so we went to separate ones. I am pretty sure that it’s the first time in over five years that I’ve seen a movie alone and that singular instance was a weird situation. Anyway. He saw District 9 (to sum up his review: “Disturbing. Not in a good way.”). I knew things weren’t going well for him when I got a text from him about twenty minutes into my own movie asking me if I had a free seat around me. He said he was going to give his movie fifteen more minutes. He ended up sticking it out, although I’m not sure why.

I saw this:

It was good. Not stellar, but good. I appreciated the performances from all of the women. Ellen Page, Juliette Lewis, Marcia Gay Harden, Alia Shawkat, and Kristen Wiig made this movie. Well, Drew Barrymore actually made it, but still.

Even though I went in knowing nothing at all about roller derby, it was fun to watch. What made the movie most enjoyable for me was the range of types and emotional depth of the female relationships portrayed.

Well done, ladies.

Image via BuzzSugar

Leave a Reply

