Sunday Lunches

This term I’ve been trying to spend some time on Sundays cooking. It’s both nice to have the luxury of cooking slowly and thoughtfully part of my routine and then also being able to reap the benefits of that throughout the week by having leftovers to take for lunches. I’m really pleased with how this week’s rather haphazard meal turned out and wanted to share the results here with you.

What you’ll need:

2 peppers, I used a yellow and an orange one, chopped

1/2 onion, chopped (finely, for my tastes)

3 or 4 garlic cloves, minced

1 can of white beans (although black beans would also be good), drained and rinsed

some corn (I used about half a bag of Trader Joe’s frozen roasted corn because I’m partial to the roasted flavor, but I’m sure a drained can of corn would sub in nicely)

1 cup quinoa (uncooked), rinsed and cooked separately

1 can green enchilada sauce

cumin

paprika

red pepper flakes

I prepared the quinoa separately from the rest, which all ended up in my biggest (but not big enough) saute pan.

Saute the onion, peppers, and garlic together in olive oil until soft. Mix in canned beans and corn. Add seasonings. Simmer until quinoa is done and then add it to the pan. Add enchilada sauce. Heat through and enjoy!

It’s definitely not the most attractive dish I’ve ever made, but it’s really tasty, spicy enough to be warm without setting me on fire (last week’s chili experiment was unbelievably hot), and full of protein.

photo-2

It’s actually vegan as is (and this is how I ate it), but could also make great burritos with a little pepper jack cheese. Another nice thing about this meal is that with quinoa as the base, you could adapt it into any number of flavors, using up whatever produce you had on hand. Let me know what your adaptations or suggestions are!

One response to “Sunday Lunches

  1. yum, I am so going to try this!

Leave a Reply

