We’re kind of a big deal.

Here in a few weeks my husband and I will have been married for five years! I won’t get all sentimental here (yet), but I’m psyched about the celebration of our anniversary. Husband handed over the reins to me to plan our trip (we like to take trips for our anniversary in lieu of exchanging gifts) because he knows how very much list-making and researching thrills my little soul. For serious.

Turns out, the weekend after our actual anniversary, our favorite band is going to be playing in Portland! After discovering this, I waffled back and forth between my previous plans for a bed-and-breakfast on the coast and a romantic urban weekend. The concert and the promise of getting to swank it up for a weekend won. Swank isn’t easy to come by here in our university town and I’ll take it whenever I can get it.

I got it with our hotel reservations. The Hotel Modera had been recommended to me by my aunt who lives in Portland and I’d run across it myself in my browsings. I spoke with someone at the hotel about reservations and weekend specials and while polite, he wasn’t willing to offer me anything we could afford. Disappointed and frustrated at the lack of available and affordable hotels (the man at the hotel told me our dates were “sell-out” dates because several conferences are going on that weekend), I did what I should have done from the start; I went to Orbitz. Not only did Orbitz immediately turn up the exact hotel and room I wanted, it secured that room to me for $50 cheaper per night than the hotel had been willing to offer. Thank you, interwebs.

I am still trying to decide what to wear that will complement this setting. Just kidding. Kind of.

Cool, right?

I’ve bought our concert tickets, made plans to go to the Portland Art Museum (it’s within walking distance of the hotel), and compiled a brief list of restaurants that might have crawfish po’ boys for Husband and places I want to go while we’re there. I look forward to the final bits of planning that I need to do before we go and may ask around for other suggestions of fun, free things to do and see while we’re in Portland, especially in the downtown (walking!) area. Thoughts?

5 responses to “We’re kind of a big deal.

  1. Sounds way fun! Congrats to you guys. Happy anniversary!

  2. sounds so exciting and your first Over The Rhine concert was about 5 years ago before you were married, right?

  3. Yes, it was! I think there was only one year we haven’t seen them in concert since.

  4. How fun! Sounds like a perfect way to celebrate to me… And if you’ve never been, I’d recommend The Montage for dinner or lunch… even dinner after the show — they are open very very late! Have the cajun mac and cheese — veggie for you, and with a bit of meat for the hub!

  5. Pingback: Weekending with OtR « With a Twist of Dynamite

Leave a Reply

