And then there was a winner!

I squandered two of my three squashes. I tried to make this squash soup last night and it just wasn’t great. It was fine, but not great. I was bummed, but our friends B & K were gracious, as always. My husband, the veg-a-phobe, barely ate a bite before pouring himself a bowl of cereal. I’m stuck with three small containers of the stuff and think I’m going to try and salvage it with gnocchi and cheese. I have faith in the power of gnocchi and cheese to fix a myriad of problems, but we’ll see how it goes.

However, tonight, there was a winner. I adapted this black bean soup recipe and thought it was ah-mazing. I only used half a quart of vegetable broth and I omitted the bacon and liquid smoke (not safe, friends) entirely. I also used an orange pepper instead of green. However, the results were still creamy, rich, and intensely satisfying. K & I both were avid fans of the lime-infused sour cream and we also added some shredded pepper jack to our soups just for kicks. So, so good. I will be making this as long as the cold weather sticks around. With two cans of black beans and the half-quart of vegetable broth it was really only about three-and-a-half servings though. K & I both had generous helpings (again, the husband barely agreed to try a bite) and there wasn’t enough left for quite two more servings. Next time I think I’ll double everything and have enough left to freeze. Highly recommended and so easy!

After the soup, I made my favorite quick and easy cupcakes. 1 (14 oz.) can of pure pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix) + 1 box of chocolate cake mix, stir together, scoop into cupcake liners, and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. While these chocolate-pumpkin cupcakes were baking I made, for the first time, homemade cream cheese frosting. These cupcakes were divine. A good food night, topped off with screwdrivers with girlfriends, can’t be beat.

*Sorry for the total lack of photos, but when the food is this good, it doesn’t stick around long enough to pose for pictures.

One response to “And then there was a winner!

  1. Yum! I’m so glad it is soup season… The kiwi has a great squash soup recipe — you might have to alter the broth choice, but otherwise it is veggie friendly! I’ll see if I can get it from him…

Leave a Reply

